Tasker Tip Tuesdays

Tasker Tip Tuesdays – How To Use A Lock Code

Tasker Tip Tuesdays - How To Use A Lock Code

Welcome to Tasker Tip Tuesdays​, quick tips to help grow your Tasker knowledge. This week I discuss how to secure Tasker via a lock code. If you want to keep Tasker more secure, you’ll love this useful tip.

 

Lock Code



Tasker has the ability to lock Tasks, Profiles, Scenes, Projects, and even Tasker itself.  This has been true since the early days of Tasker.  The feature provides protection from other seeing and potentially changing your automation configurations.  In order to utilize this function one must first set a lock code.  To do so, follow these steps below:

  • From Tasker’s UI select “Preferences” from the three dot menu at the top right corner
  • In the “UI” tab, scroll to the “UI Lock” section.
  • Enter a code of your choosing in the text input field and back out of the preferences screen.
  • REMEMBER THIS NUMBER COMBINATION BECAUSE YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO REMOVE IT IF FORGOTTEN

Using A Lock Code

Once set, try locking a Task, Profile, Scene, Project, etc.  Long press on the item (from the list in the previous sentence), select the menu and “Lock”.  Once locked, notice the lock icon next to it.  Other situations requiring a lock code are teh following (taken from the first of the “?” icon under the “UI Lock” section):

If a code is entered here, it must be entered again in the following situations:

  • delete a locked profile
  • viewing a locked profile
  • disable Tasker
  • clear or restore profile data
  • view Tasker preferences
  • going to Task Edit screen (if any locked profiles have named Tasks)
  • creating a Widget or Shortcut (if any locked profiles have named Tasks)

A profile can be locked via Profile Properties.

A locked, named profile will be automatically collapsed when the Tasker UI starts.

The code needs only to be entered once each time Tasker’s UI runs.

Examples

Now that you understand Tasker’s lock code feature, let’s play around with some examples to get a better understanding.


Conclusion



This security feature provides comfort and peace of mind to Tasker users.  Use it wisely to safely protect your value automation information.  If you want even more security within a specific section of a Task, check out the appropriately named “Lock” Action.

Further Reading

To catch up on previous posts in this series, visit the Tasker Tip Tuesdays page.  As always, enjoy and keep learning!  Until the next Tasker Tip Tuesday…

What did you think???